Shortlist for The Bookmarks Awards announced, sponsored by Effective Measure

With the enthusiasm of the awards mounting, the Bookmarks committee is delighted to announce the shortlist for 2012.

The shortlisted entries were selected by the esteemed judges  from the hundreds of companies that entered, a record breaking number compared to that of previous years. “This year has truly reflected the immense popularity and competitive spirit within the digital realm of the industry. The increase in the number of entries is testament to the success and credibility of the Bookmarks Awards and I am blown away by the quality of the entries this year,” says chairwoman of Bookmarks Nikki Cockcroft.

The Bookmarks Awards, powered by FNB is the only platform dedicated to celebrating all that is digital. The Awards is an initiative launched in 2008 by the DMMA (Digital Media and Marketing Association), a non-profit organisation that aims to grow and sustain a vibrant and profitable digital industry.

The Awards are held as an accolade geared towards the strengthening of the profile of online media, rewarding excellence in digital publishing, advertising and marketing, as well as benchmarking local talent against international standards.

With champagne, canapés, The Bookmarks Committee and host Elana Afrika announced the shortlist at a VIP event sponsored by Effective Measure at 15 on Orange, Wednesday evening 17 October 2012.

The Bookmarks Awards, powered by FNB are divided into four clusters:

1.    The Core Awards
2.    The Craft Awards
3.    The Individual and Team Awards
4.    The Special Honours Awards

View the shortlist here.

More on Effective Measure:
Follow: @e_measure

The Bookmarks will be hosting workshops, sponsored by in Johannesburg on the 30th, and Cape Town on the 31st of October as part of the Bookmarks week. Costs are R450 per ticket, which is a steal considering the workshop line-up. More information on the line-up can be found at

The culmination will be the Hollywood Glam event powered by FNB, commencing on the 1st of November 2012 at  the Artscape Theatre, with the After-party hosted at Trinity nightclub. Tickets are limited so book now to avoid disappointment!

The ‘stellar line-up’: Honey B and Gazelle will be performing at the Awards Ceremony followed by DJ Invizable, James Copeland and Anthea Scholtz taking over at the After Party.

Standard: R750 per ticket – ticket to the main event and after-party at Trinity nightclub
After-party: R150 per ticket – only 300 tickets available for those that can’t attend the event, but want to celebrate later
For group bookings valued R5000 and above – please contact Corporate Sales directly on 011 340 8128 or email

Media Partners
How we made it in Africa; Bandwidth Blog; Bizcommunity; Advantage Magazine; Enjin Magazine; The New Age; Strike Media; Memeburn,  Mark Lives

Category sponsors
Apurimac Media; Social@Ogilvy; Audience Media; Demographica;; Ads24; Dash of Lime; InMobi; MyBroadband; Brandseye and DSTV Online

Digital Champions
Effective Measure; The Villas Hotel Group; Auslese; Atmosphere Orange; Hertz; Everlytic; 60 Layers of Cake; 365 Digital; Brandseye; New Media Publishing;  Native; RSA Web;  Colourtone Aries; The Accommadtion Guru; Leisure Hotels, Real Time Wine, Warwick Wine Estate and Newsclip

Follow: @TheBookmarks